These forums are archived!
Please create a new account at our new forums here: http://forum.modifiedpowerwheels.com
ModifiedPowerWheels.com powerwheels upgrades, peg-perego and others very welcome

Specializing in Peg Perego and Power Wheels Parts and Machines
Udemy Course
Home | My Files | Profile | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | RSS allows you to view new posts anywhere!!
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Read This First (FAQ's)
 FAQ - Remote kill switches, and key switches
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

swhenrik
Moderator



Pengilly
MN
USA

4067 Posts

Posted - 04/04/2008 :  11:40:15  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
Here's a thread for easy reference to info on installing a remote kill switch, and installing a working key switch.

As a safety note, be sure there is a fuse or breaker between the battery and anything you add to the factory wiring. More info here:
FAQ - Do I need an inline fuse/circuit breaker?

Edited by - swhenrik on 04/04/2008 12:27:18

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/04/2008 :  11:46:58  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
Start with key switches:

Here's the key switch I used:
http://tncscooters.com/product.php?sku=101220

Here's some choices from http://www.allelectronics.com/ but they are all the same price and style. They also state that the key is removed in the "on" position, and I don't know if that means circuit open or closed when "on".
The key circuit must be "closed" when "on" to trigger the relay.

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/KSW-1022/ON-OFF-KEYSWITCH/-/1.html

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/KSW-1015/ON-OFF-KEYSWITCH/-/1.html

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/KSW-1077B/ON-OFF-KEYSWITCH/-/1.html

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/KSW-1050/ON-OFF-KEYSWITCH/-/1.html

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/KSW-1085/ON-OFF-KEYSWITCH/-/1.html

If anyone has more ideas, please post them here:
http://www.modifiedpowerwheels.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4820

Edited by - swhenrik on 07/16/2008 06:50:41
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/04/2008 :  11:48:34  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
Next up.... remote kill switches.

What you use for a remote is up to you. Here's a couple options:

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=RM01&AID=10440852&CJPID=361116
Only $10.50, but showing "out of stock." 6 amp rating.
More info on the Logisys ones here:
http://www.logisyscomputer.com/viewsku.asp?SKUID=RM01
http://www.logisyscomputer.com/viewsku.asp?SKUID=RM02

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/RC-10/KEYCHAIN-REMOTE-CONTROL-12VDC-6-AMP/-/1.html
Diagram: http://www.allelectronics.com/spec/RC-10.pdf
$18.75, 6 amps

RC-11 is no longer listed, but now there's an RC-12
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/RC-12/2-POLE-REVERSIBLE-REMOTE-CONTROL/1.html
$30.00, but rated at 40 amps, which would be enough on it's own without having to add another relay.

http://www.autozone.com has one, but you have to search for "remote" and put in your zip code.

Additional relays are required for most remote setups. See next post.

Edited by - swhenrik on 07/03/2008 10:59:37
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/04/2008 :  11:53:40  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
Relays....

Do you need a relay? Depends on the key switch/remote switch that you use. You need a rating of AT LEAST 30 amps for most Power Wheel type applications. Finding a key switch that will handle more then 15 amps is challenging, and the 15 amps ones are really expensive. Also, many remotes come with relays, but typically it isn't large enough to handle 30 amps.

A common relay to use is the "Bosch style" automotive relay.


They are available at most auto parts stores. Here's a link to get one online:
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/RLY-351/12V-SPDT-30-AMP-AUTOMOTIVE-RELAY//1.html
See wiring diagrams below for pin-out labels.

They can use standard female spade connectors, see here for more info on connectors:
http://www.modifiedpowerwheels.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3264

Or a standard automotive base like so:


Also available at auto parts stores, or online here:
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/SRLY-2/SOCKET-FOR-AUTOMOTIVE-RELAY//1.html

Edited by - swhenrik on 12/22/2010 18:32:46
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/04/2008 :  12:03:29  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
Wiring it in to your vehicle:

There are 2 options here.

For a key switch, you'll most likely cut one of the wires coming off the battery, and put the relay in that line.

For a remote kill switch, doing the above is an option, but I think a better setup is if the remote not only cuts the power, but also applies the stock brakes, to possibly save kids in a panic situation. Here's a diagram to show how to do that:




A couple notes about the diagram above:

- The above diagram was specifically for a new style, Power Wheels brand wiring harness, with a single battery and an all-in-one high/low/reverse shifter. Different models will look different. The important thing is to cut the power to the motors, and to get the braking effect it must be redirected from the motors through the braking circuit.

- The colors vary from model to model. The diagram above should show an "orange" wire as the brake wire, not cyan, as that is the most common. But it's NOT the only color ever used.

- The resistor isn't always present. Seems the newest models of Power Wheels don't use them at all. Adding one is an option, and is covered in other topics. Even if you don't have a resistor, you would still connect to the braking circuit!

- I don't show a diode between the remote and the relay. I probably should. When the relay drops, it sends a huge power burst back that could cook the remote, depending on how well it handles current. Anything rated for 6 amps or more (all the ones in the links above) probably won't have a problem. The diode would go between the positive and negative wires between the remote and the relay. It won't flow any current normally, but it shorts out that spike coming back.

Edited by - swhenrik on 04/30/2008 11:26:36
Go to Top of Page

treebeme
Advanced Modder

Holtsville
NY
USA



3209 Posts

Posted - 04/18/2008 :  10:56:43  Show Profile
As an option, you could tap an indicator light off of the positive wire between the remote and the 30 amp automotive relay. Ground it to the same place you are grounding the remote. This way when the remote is enabled you will know it by seeing the indicator light.

This could be important because even though the remote relay only draws power while actively switching, the 30 amp automotive relay coil will be draining power the entire time the vehicle is enabled. You would want to make sure that the remote is off when you put it away so that the battery doesn't go dead in the vehicle when not using it.

You could go one step further and use a lighted switch instead of an indicator light. Not only would it give you the lighted warning, but you can use the switch to manually cut power to the automotive relay if the keychain remote is not with you at the time. The positive wire from the remote would go to the main power contact on the lighted switch. Connect the ground wire from the lighted switch to the same place you are grounding the remote. And instead of having the trigger wire from the automotive relay going directly to the remote, have it go to the NO (normally open) contact on the lighted switch. Note that this would only be a manually override for turning the system off. You would have to have both the switch on and the remote in the on position to drive the vehicle. But if only the switch or only the remote is off, the vehicle would be off.

------------------------------------------------
Screamin Demon (600 watt scooter motor, 36v scooter controller)
Red Harley (trike, 24v scooter controller, 13t MFJ gearboxes/motors)
KFX Quad (24v scooter controller, MFJ 12t gearboxes/motors)
Fire Rescue Jeep (24v scooter controller, 15t #7 gearboxes/motors)
Franken(berry)beast (24v scooter controller, 2-250Watt Scooter motors)
Grave Digger (21T gearboxes)
Super Shock
Razor MX-350 Motorcycle

Projects
--------
Jeep Wrangler (on hold)
Barbie Cruzin Tunes Jeep (24v scooter controller)
TCV Indy Racer (24v scooter controller)
Gator (on hold)
Silverado Dragster (on hold)
Apache (on hold)
Metal big wheel (24v scooter controller)
Jeep Aftershock

Edited by - treebeme on 04/18/2008 11:30:20
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/30/2008 :  09:05:38  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
If you have anything you would like to see added to the FAQ's, please let us know in this thread:
Suggestions for the FAQ's

Projects: Jeep, Bigfoot, Lil' Quad, Dora Quad, Dirt Grinder, Nascar, Intro, Ultimate Gaucho
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/30/2008 :  11:23:16  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
Due to popular demand, here's a variation of the diagram to use a remote on an 18 volt (or 24 volt) system:


Projects: Jeep, Bigfoot, Lil' Quad, Dora Quad, Dirt Grinder, Nascar, Intro, Ultimate Gaucho

Edited by - swhenrik on 04/30/2008 11:34:20
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 04/30/2008 :  11:34:04  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
There are a lot of combinations of modifications... I'm not about to draw a diagram for every one, but I can give some quick hints.

If you want to run a key switch AND a remote shut-off, simply put the key switch in the circuit that supplies power TO the remote. This way it still only requires a single relay. In my diagrams, it's the wire furthest to the right. By having it there, power will be cut to the remote, which will then cause the relay to drop into it's "OFF" state. This will also keep the remote from draining the battery... a nice addition.

Adding a NOS setup with a remote or key switch? I haven't put any thought into a NOS setup..... but for starers, look at the "higher voltage" diagram. Put in a SPDT switch (likely a relay) that switches the power wire going INTO the throttle switch to change between being connected to just the 12 volt battery in one position, or the 2 batt's in series in the other position.

Projects: Jeep, Bigfoot, Lil' Quad, Dora Quad, Dirt Grinder, Nascar, Intro, Ultimate Gaucho
Go to Top of Page

swhenrik
Moderator

Pengilly
MN
USA



4067 Posts

Posted - 10/29/2008 :  11:57:33  Show Profile  Visit swhenrik's Homepage
A variation that puts the remote and/or key between the battery and the rest of the vehicle's wiring:


Projects: Jeep, Bigfoot, Lil' Quad, Dora Quad, Dirt Grinder, Nascar, Intro, Ultimate Gaucho
Go to Top of Page
   Topic Next Topic  
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
 Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.05